2016 “All Hands on Deck” Gala

Fort Washington Medical Center would like to extend a sincere thanks to everyone who attended, contributed and/or sponsored our 2016 “All Hands on Deck” Gala. The prestigious event was held on Saturday, October 29 at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center. Over 400 people attended this year’s event, which honored Trailblazers in Health Honorees Governor Larry Hogan of Maryland, Honorable Senator Barbara Mikulski, U.S. Senator of Maryland, Prince George’s County Councilman Obie Patterson and Prince George’s County Executive Rushern L. Baker III. The event also recognized Pioneer Award winner Elias G. Debbas, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.I.C.S, community health Award winner Ebenezer AME Health Ministry, and Fort Washington Medical Center Leadership Award winner Greater Washington Emergency Physicians.

The evening was a definite success, complete with beautiful décor, delicious food, Allison Seymour our awesome MC, great music, and wonderful company. All of this culminated into one of Fort Washington Medical Center’s best galas yet, enabling us to continue serving our community and addressing various health disparities that exist in Prince George’s County.




The Community Health Award recognizes members of faith, civic and social organizations for their outstanding contributions to the Prince George’s County community in the area of health. It honors organizations that empower individuals to take action in the area of health, and specifically addresses the individual and familial approach to improving the quality of life through innovative education and health awareness outreach programs.


  • Pastor Lincoln Burruss, Central Baptist Church of Camp Springs, MD
  • Reverend John Cherry, From the Heart Ministry, Suitland, MD
  • Ebenezer AME Health Ministry, Fort Washington, MD
  • Pastor John K. Jenkins, Sr., First Baptist Church of Glenarden
  • Pastor Freddie L. Jones, Word of Life Church Ministries
  • Reverend Joseph Lyles, Fort Foote Baptist Church, Fort Washington, MD
  • Minister Jonathan Pinketon, Beltway Church of Christ, Camp Springs, MD
  • Pastor Kevin Ross, Victory Chapel, Accokeek, MD
  • Pastor Kevin Joshua White, Church of the Great Commission, Suitland, MD
  • Pastor Daryl L. Williams, St. Paul's United Methodist Church, Temple Hills, MD


The Fort Washington Medical Center Leadership Award recognizes contributions to the medical/healthcare profession through active leadership in dedicated service to patients, fostering healthy communities and professional organizations.


  • Bruce Siegel, CEO, America's Essential Hospitals, Washington, DC
  • Greater Washington Emergency Physicians
  • Kem Tolliver, CEO, Medical Revenue Cycle Specialists

Fort Washington Medical Center Honorary Committee List



‚Äč2015 Board of Trustees:

  • Yvonne S. Magee, Ph.D., Chair
  • Kimberly Robertson Pannell, Immediate Past Chair
  • Manervia W. Riddick, Executive Secretary
  • Henry W. Mosley, Treasurer
  • Pamela B. Creekmur
  • Charles E. Day, Sr.
  • John A. Petty
  • Ike Puzon
  • Delegate Michael A. Jackson
  • Rev. Marlene R. Jefferson
  • Deepak Sachdeva, M.D.
  • Sameer Shammas, M.D.

Hear it from Our Patients

Jody Beard has suffered from knee pain for many years. Not anymore, thanks to knee replacement surgery through the Fort Washington Medical Center Joint Replacement Program.
This surgery has changed my life. I no longer lay on shopping carts for support or agonize when walking on concrete. After two knee replacements, now I am all over the place. I’m walking around the school where I work without pain. My granddaughter says I don’t walk like a penguin anymore. I have my surgeon and the FWMC staff to thank for that!
~ Jody Beard